Contact Us
Tarrytown-SleepyHollow Daily Voice serves Sleepy Hollow & Tarrytown
Return to your home site


Tarrytown-SleepyHollow Daily Voice serves Sleepy Hollow & Tarrytown

Nearby Towns

Breaking News: Salmonella Outbreak Linked To Turkey Hits 26 States, Including NY

Sleepy Hollow Second at Croton Tournament

CROTON-ON-HUDSON, N.Y. – Croton opened its 35th annual Dual-Meet Wrestling Tournament with three convincing wins in pool play – over Pleasantville, Port Chester and Irvington – before a closely-contested match in the final.

The Tigers were facing friendly rival, Sleepy Hollow, and they responded with key wins in an eventual 38-37 victory on Saturday.

Croton went 4-0 on the day, improving to 22-8 on the season. This is the first time Croton has won the tournament under this format, after last winning the title in 2003.

Sophomore Sam Goldsmith (160 pounds), who went 3-1 for the tournament, had the pivotal win against Sleepy Hollow. Goldsmith scored two points in the third period, breaking a 4-4 tie against Gabriel Gonzalez, in a 6-4 triumph.

“Sam received one point on a clasp and then escaped for another point,” Croton coach Sam Occhipinti said. “That was a big win for Sam and for us. That definitely turned over the momentum of the match.

“Sam had a good day for us. Sam showed how far determination can get you. He won his matches based on his determination.”

Croton defeated Pleasantville 48-29, Port Chester 62-12, and Irvington 51-36, during pool wrestling. David Occhipinti, Chris Kraft, John Martin and Andrew Barsuch all went 4-0 for the Tigers. Martin was selected as most outstanding senior wrestler.

“Everybody wrestled with a lot of heart and a lot of focus,” Sam Occhipinti said. “This was a total team effort.”

Gabe Palacios (170), Csaurel Clarke (182) and Nathaniel Christian (220) had pins for Sleepy Hollow. Steven Become (138) and Edwin Jimenez (132) also won as Sleepy Hollow finished 3-1 for the tournament.


Croton 38, Sleepy Hollow 37

120 -- D.J. Frederich (Cr) pin. Chris Lazo, 2:50; 126 -- David Occhipinti (Cr) major dec. Juan Pablo Loja 14-4; 132 -- Edwin Jimenez (SH) major dec. Dan Guido, 12-4; 138 -- Steven Bencosme (SH) dec. J.P. O’Malley, 5-0; 145 -- John Martin (Cr) dec. Kevin Ortiz, 2-0; 152 -- Andrew Horan (Cr) dec. Jean-Paul Ospina, 5-2; 160 -- Gabe Palacios (SH) pin. Eli Greenstein, 2:52; 170 -- Sam Goldsmith (Cr) dec. Gabriel Gonzalez, 6-4; 182 -- Csaurel Clarke (SH) pin. Matt Seputro, :10; 195 -- Chris Kraft (Cr) pin. Chris Hutter, :30; 220 -- Nathaniel Christian (SH) pin. Alek Pavloff, 3:40; 285 -- Frank Cuaranaj (SH) won by forfeit; 99 -- Andrew Barsuch (Cr) pin. Ray Rodriguez, :58; 106 -- Tommy Schultz (Cr) won by forfeit; 113 -- Edisson Quituisaca (SH) won by forfeit.

to sign up for Daily Voice's free daily emails and news alerts.

Welcome to

Tarrytown-SleepyHollow Daily Voice!

Serves Sleepy Hollow & Tarrytown

Get the news you need to know on the go.

Welcome to

Tarrytown-SleepyHollow Daily Voice!

Serves Sleepy Hollow & Tarrytown

Hi! You've read our articles so we know you like our reporting. To keep reading please join our mailing list.

Get important news about your town as it happens.