Contact Us
Tarrytown-SleepyHollow Daily Voice serves Sleepy Hollow & Tarrytown
Return to your home site


Tarrytown-SleepyHollow Daily Voice serves Sleepy Hollow & Tarrytown

Nearby Towns

Breaking News: Hutchinson River Parkway Lane Closures Scheduled

Irvington Wrestling Beats Croton on Wexler Pin

CROTON-ON-HUDSON, N.Y. -- Irvington needed a win from Tyler Wexler in order to advance in the Section 1 Division II Dual-Meet Championships Wednesday, and he responded.Wexler pinned Mike Motta in 55 seconds, sending Irvington to a 42-39 win over Croton in a quarterfinal match. However, Irvington had its’ title dreams stopped by Edgemont, 68-15 in a semifinal.Irvington trailed, 39-36, going into the final match -- 106 pounds. A regular decision would only give Wexler three points so he was in need of at least a major decision.“Tyler, a sophomore, has improved tremendously this year and he came through with a big win for us, at the end,” Irvington coach Steve Aufiero said. “Beating Croton was a huge win for our program."“Croton is very deep this year and is always well-coached. We needed a couple of wins in the middle weights and Drew Cohen stepped up with a pin at 138 pounds," Aufiero added. "I am very proud of my team, but we know we have a long way to go to get to Edgemont’s level.”Kevin Degnan, Brett Pastore and Anthony DiNardo each won their two matches.

Edgemont 68, Irvington 15 120 -- Max Abramsky (Ed) pin. Nick D’Arrigo, 1:32; 126 -- Will Graybeal (Ed) pin. Tristan Hickey, 1:04; 132 -- Colin Hopkins (Ed) pin. Andrew Wassman, 1:17; 138 -- Peter Berman (Ed) major dec. Drew Cohen, 14-3; 145 -- Brett Pastore (I) dec. Jack McCormack, 3-0; 152 -- Ross kantor (Ed) pin. Zach Silverhardt, :32; 160 -- Oliver Oks (Ed) major dec. Peter Jones, 15-2; 170 -- Jason Worobow (Ed) pin. Joe Ciccio, :55; 182 -- Chris Kim (Ed) pin. Evan Pachon, :57; 195 -- Kevin Degan (I) won by forfeit; 220 -- Danny Kornberg (Ed) pin. Adam Krieger, :18; 285 -- Anthony DiNardo (I) won by forfeit; 99 -- Tyler Aslanian (Ed) pin. Gideon Bernstein, :24; 106 -- Sky Korek (Ed) pin. Tyler Wexler, 1:37; 120 -- Trey Aslanian (Ed) pin. Justin Jimenez, :53.

Edgemont 42, Croton 39

113 -- Justin Jimenez (I) pin. Tommy Schultz, :30; 120 -- D.J. Frederick (Cr) pin. Nick D’Arrigo, 1:09; 126 -- Danny Guido (Cr) pin. Tristan Hickey, 2:33; 132 -- David Occhipinti (Cr) pin. Andrew Wassman, 1:08; 145 -- Brett Pastore (I) dec. Johnny Martin, 5-0; 152 -- Andrew Horan (Cr) pin. Manny Figueroa, 2:52; 160 -- Eli Greenstein (Cr) dec. Zach Silverhardt, 10-6; 170 -- Peter Jones (I) pin. Devin Lewis, 2:59; 182 -- Joe Ciccio (I) pin. Matt Seputro, 3:01; 195 -- Kevin Degnan (I) dec. Chris Kraft, 7-5; 220 -- Alek Pavloff (Cr) pin. Adam Krieger, 3:37; 285 -- Anthony DiNardo (I) won by forfeit; 99 -- Andrew Bausch (Cr) pin. Gideon Bernstein, :38; 106 -- Tyler Wexler (I) pin. Mike Motta, :55.

to sign up for Daily Voice's free daily emails and news alerts.

Welcome to

Tarrytown-SleepyHollow Daily Voice!

Serves Sleepy Hollow & Tarrytown

This is a one time message inviting you to keep in touch

Get important news about your town as it happens.