Contact Us
Tarrytown-SleepyHollow Daily Voice serves Sleepy Hollow & Tarrytown
Return to your home site


Tarrytown-SleepyHollow Daily Voice serves Sleepy Hollow & Tarrytown

Nearby Towns

Breaking News: ID Released For Man Killed In Hudson Valley Officer-Involved Shooting

Sleepy Hollow Middle School Inducts Students to National Junior Honor Society

SLEEPY HOLLOW, N.Y. – Sleepy Hollow Middle School Principal Elizabeth Lopez said the induction of a student into the National Junior Honor Society isn't just about good grades. It's about character, leadership and service.

“A ceremony such as this is a wonderful way for the school and community to recognize and celebrate the choices our students have made,” Lopez said. “I believe what should make our students and parents most proud is the work that had to be accomplished to earn this honor.”

Sleepy Hollow Middle School inducted 28 sixth, seventh and eighth-graders into the National Junior Honor Society Monday night with a special candlelight ceremony. The induction included a discussion of the honor society's required five qualities: character, scholarship, leadership, service and citizenship.

National Junior Honor Society Advisor Deidre Sullivan congratulated the students on their inductions, noting they were chosen by the faculty council. She also highlighted the work of current members: all members completed 20 hours of service this year in conjunction with their membership. Sullivan and other Sleepy Hollow Middle School officials honored 47 other students who had maintained their membership in the honor society as well.

Eighth-grade student and current honor society member Elizabeth Silver said her time spent serving others has been rewarding. Silver volunteered through tutoring and local environmental clean-ups.

“The National Junior Honor Society is about students helping the community in various ways,” she said.

Silver's classmate Zoe Kaplan agreed and encouraged the new inductees to volunteer in any way they could. “Every bit you can give helps,” she said.

2012 National Junior Honor Society Inductees:

Benjamin Bojemski

Daniel Livington

Kristina Hart

Victoria McAdam

Jackie Maldonado

Hannah Miller

Nicole Pereira

Cole Morgan

Dylan Basescu

Eamon Pearson

Maya Carualho-Evans

Olivia Rudder

Marissa Fortugno

Eliza Sandler

Simon Geisker

Mark Scaglione

Owen Kelly

Kyra Schulz

Isaac Newland

Samantha Silver

Sophia Norwood

Hallie Swanson

Mary DelVecchio

Emma Sylves Berry

Kevin Kern

Emma Tucker

Taylor Jayne Knight

Grace Zuzzolo

to sign up for Daily Voice's free daily emails and news alerts.

Welcome to

Tarrytown-SleepyHollow Daily Voice!

Serves Sleepy Hollow & Tarrytown

Hi! You've read our articles so we know you like our reporting. To keep reading please join our mailing list.

Get important news about your town as it happens.