Contact Us
Tarrytown-SleepyHollow Daily Voice serves Sleepy Hollow & Tarrytown
Return to your home site


Tarrytown-SleepyHollow Daily Voice serves Sleepy Hollow & Tarrytown

Nearby Towns


Sleepy Hollow Students Inducted Into Honor Society

SLEEPY HOLLOW, N.Y. – Sleepy Hollow High School Principal Carol Conklin-Spillane presides over many events during the school year. She admitted on Wednesday night to playing favorites.

“I must admit that amongst my favorites is the induction every year of students into the National Honor Society,” she said. The National Honor Society inducted 68 students into their organization in a candlelight ceremony in the high school auditorium.

Parents, teachers and friends gathered to watch as inductees were praised for their accomplishments and character. “Lets have this be an awesome beginning of all the wonderful things that are yet to come,” Conklin-Spillane said.

Student officers led the candlelight ceremony before the juniors and seniors accepted their NHS pins and took the Honor Society pledge. Each officer lit one candle representing five National Honor Society characteristics: knowledge, service, scholarship, character and leadership.

Treasurer Alex Mendonca urged new inductees to consider the fact that great scholars such as Galileo and Socretes “started as students much like you all today. Every single one of you has more resoures than Socretes and Galileo could have imagined,” he said, advising students to use the opportunities and experiences they have to achieve unimaginable feats.

President Sara Rennert encouraged students to “be a leader and make the world a brighter place. You might not be the captain or president, but being there to make an impact can make you as much as a leader as anyone else,” she said. “So know that whether or not you become an officer of this society or any other activities you participate in doesn't make you any less capable of making a difference.”

National Honor Society Inductees

Maria Alvarez

Gian Carlo Banting

Gabriela Barnier

Krista Bucci

Genesis Lema

Sofia Pinho

Bruna Reis

Lucas Swenson

Ranggy Tapia

Ailin Xiao

Danielle Abou-Rjeili

Emmanuel Alcantara

Jovana Alejandro

Sebastian Ardaix

Camille Aulagner

Jholeena Banting

Marisa Barbera

Maya Bauer-Moshi

Jacqueline Bischof

Emilie Bogusz

Marlee Carayol

Daniella Carissimo

Nathaniel Caspari

Sarah Cerbone

Nathanael Christian

Megan Copley

Laura Epstein

Brittany Galante

Emily Geiger

Camila Gaudin Gonzalez

Ma. Tricia Guarin

Ian Harbus

David Hargrove

Ryan Higgins

Christopher Hutter

Amina Ishmail

Jean Kim

Erica Vanessa Jimenez

Alexandra Kendrick

Austin-Tyler Lantz

Natalie LaRue

David Maldonado

Madeline McGovern

Philip Norwood

Kevin Ortiz

Madison Ortiz

Thomas Pardo

Timothy Pepe

Elizabeth Pisapia

Annie Plotkin

Felipe Reis

Syndee Rhoden

Marco Picchiuti

Marlen Rosario

Zoe Rosenberger

Liana Samoyedny

Patrick Sampaio

John Schnog

Nicola Shannon

Leidy Suero

Kevin Sullivan

Erika Swanson

Abigael Titcomb

Benjamin Tschan

Breanne Tuohy

Skarlen Valentin

Nicholas Yawman

Julia Vallo

to sign up for Daily Voice's free daily emails and news alerts.

Welcome to

Tarrytown-SleepyHollow Daily Voice!

Serves Sleepy Hollow & Tarrytown

Hi! You've read our articles so we know you like our reporting. To keep reading please join our mailing list.

Get important news about your town as it happens.