Contact Us
Tarrytown-SleepyHollow Daily Voice serves Sleepy Hollow & Tarrytown
Return to your home site


Tarrytown-SleepyHollow Daily Voice serves Sleepy Hollow & Tarrytown

Nearby Towns


Democrats 'Clobber' Opponents in Sleepy Hollow

SLEEPY HOLLOW, N.Y. – Incumbent Karin Wompa was re-elected and Jennifer Lobato-Church and Susan MacFarlane were elected to the Sleepy Hollow Board of Trustees by a wide margin Tuesday night, according to unofficial results from the Westchester County Board of Elections.

Wompa received 705 votes, Lobato-Church received 716 votes and MacFarlane received 724 votes. They each ran on the Democratic and Better Government lines.

"It was a clobbering," Janet Gandolfo, Chairperson of the Sleepy Hollow Democratic Committee, told the cheering crowd gathered at Que Chula Es Puebla restaurant as she tallied up the votes.

Their opponents, Daniel Scott received 340 votes, Sean Roach received 263 votes and David Bedell received 331. They each ran on the Sleepy Hollow Independent lines.

"It was a great victory and a great team," Wompa said. "We pushed it all the way home."

Sleepy Hollow Independent candidates conceded victory soon after their opponents began celebrating Tuesday night.

"We're just happy that we ran and proud to represent the village in our campaigning,” Roach said. “We will be doing the same next year. People will see their taxes go up and wish they voted for us."

Six candidates ran for three open seats on the board of trustees to serve two-year terms. Trustees are paid $5,000 per year.

Wompa is a stay-at-home mother and former manager at Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center who has lived in the village for 16 years. She served on the board of trustees for two terms and works with several other village committees. Wompa said she decided to run for reelection to continue the progress that was made during her two terms.

Wompa said she looked forward to moving ahead with everything that's happening in the village and credited the team's victory to the “great candidates.”

“Our team just brought so much experience” to the table, she said.

MacFarlane is a securities litigator who has lived in Sleepy Hollow since 2006. She founded the Friends of Horan's Landing park committee. She said she decided to run for village trustee to improve the village for all residents.

MacFarlane said once the celebration had begun that she was happy and excited that so many people voted for her.

“I promise to do my very best,” she said while noting she was savoring the wonderful experience of being elected.

Lobato-Church is regulatory advisory council for the Royal Bank of Scotland and has lived in Sleepy Hollow for most of her life.  Lobato-Church sits on the Sleepy Hollow Zoning Board of Appeals and is chair of the police advisory committee.  She said she decided to run for village trustee to give back to the community and help the village navigate through upcoming changes.

Lobato-Church thanked everyone for their work in the campaign during her victory speech before telling people that they had heard enough of the candidates for the past two months; it was time to celebrate, she said.

Mayor Ken Wray also congratulated the new trustees.

“It is my great pleasure that I know I'm going to continue working with Karin Wompa on our board together two new members, Jennifer and Susan, who I know will keep us all on our toes,” he told a cheering crowd when the results were read aloud. “I want to thank everybody. This was a group effort as always.”

to sign up for Daily Voice's free daily emails and news alerts.

Welcome to

Tarrytown-SleepyHollow Daily Voice!

Serves Sleepy Hollow & Tarrytown

Hi! You've read our articles so we know you like our reporting. To keep reading please join our mailing list.

Get important news about your town as it happens.